The April 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Esther of The Lilac Kitchen. She challenged everyone to make a traditional British pudding using, if possible, a very traditional British ingredient: suet.

So glad to be finally back on track with the Daring Bakers’ challenges. This was an interesting one indeed. I had never had British pudding before so I wasn’t too certain of what the result should be, but based on the various photographs I could gather online I suppose mine wasn’t too far off. Not having suet readily available in my area I made my pudding with butter instead, and I opted for the sponge type variation. I added fresh strawberries and dried cranberries to my batter and a couple of tablespoons of wild fruit marmalade.

While it was interesting making this dessert and learning so much about it, I’m sad to say it was not something I particularly enjoyed eating or would bother doing again. I fancy moist cakes but this was much too moist, even soggy I would say with a bland flavour.

Still glad I made it and discovered a lot about it, but if I should ever have it again I would probably have to be in England.

